January 30:   It is our ‘extra’ Thursday and we will meet for lunch (12 Noon) at the Old Brogue in Great Falls Village Center (one side of it also know as Katie’s Coffee).  Our own Eve Taylor (evetaylor@verizon.net) will be heading up this effort.  I would love to join you, but I will be skiing out in Utah.  Please let Eve or me know if you are planning to attend so she can make reservations.  It is always fun as the restaurant is a popular hang out and has great food. 

 

February:  On Thursday, 6 February, we will have our Valentine’s Party.  Please wear pink or red and bring a pink or red snack.  We will have fun, as always, and our own Bob Seiler will play romantic songs from Broadway Plays.  You don’t want to miss it!

 

On 20 February, we will host our Second Anniversary Memory Café Potluck.  We are advertising like mad and one couple has already called, they saw our advertisement in the Golden Gazette.  I am printing off advertisements for us to disseminate. At our last meeting, we asked if people preferred a Memory Café tote bag or coffee mug and I think the tote bag won (but if you really would prefer a coffee mug, let me know.  Eve has been looking into prices for tote bags.  At the potluck we will provide paper products,  ham and a Costco cake for dessert.  How does this sound?

 

If your last name begins with A-H, bring an appetizer

If your last names begins with I-Q bring a vegetable

If your last name begins with R-Z, bring a salad

 

Did I forget anything?

 

Also, our Memory Café is mentioned in the Fairfax Woman for this month within the Great Falls Assisted Living advertisement.  IN addition, GFAL gave me a form to fill out for a grant (only 3 winners) for those who help seniors in the area.  I may be calling on some of you to help me write it up.  The form asks for ideas on how we would spend money if we received some.  I can think of renting a bus to take us places and for other supplies.  What are your thoughts?  

 

Happy Birthday tomorrow to Ernest   (great bowling, Ernie!) .  Carol S’s is the 30th.  Hope you both have a great day.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment